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The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development proposes to adopt 

regulation changes in Title 3, Chapter 8,910, to comply with statutory language passed by the 

legislature under HB 308.  Additionally the proposal will make changes to update the reference 

names of certain federal manuals that have changed. Language will also increase the notice time 

for rescission offers to 10 days from the current two days and provide definition language for 

“controlling person.” Other provisions will involve revisions language to correct outdated 

language.  

Public Comment Period ends November 7, 2014 

Written Comments to: Kristy Naylor, Chief of Enforcement and Securities 

Division of Banking and Securities 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1850 

Anchorage, AK 99501 

By e-mail to dbsc@alaska.gov  

Fax to (907) 269-8146. 

The Authority is proposing changes to 03 AAC.106 regarding Power Project Fund loans 

adding a nominal charge of $200 for a $100K loan to $5,000 for $1 million for processing a 

loan application and new guidance for loan terms.  The regulations offer those seeking loans 

some insight into the potential costs prior to applying and what is expected when they do 

apply. 

 

Public Comment Period ends November 14, 2014 

Written Comments to: Cady Lister, Program Manager 

 813 West Northern Lights 

 Anchorage, AK 99503.  
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By e-mail to: clister@aidea.org.    or  dbsc@alaska.gov  

Fax to Cady Lister at 907-771-3039 

Additionally there will be a public hearing for comments on Monday November 3, 2014 from 

10:00am-11:00am (and may be extended) in the Board Room at AEA, 813 West Northern 

Lights Blvd, Anchorage, Alaska. Those wishing to participate in the hearing by telephone may 

do so by calling the toll-free number 1-888-585-9008, code 467-050-126. 

 

 

The Authority is proposing changes to is procurement regulations regarding 

expenditures of funds used to manage qualified projects that  are designed, constructed 

or administered  for  qualified grantees.  The changes include an entire new section 

under 03 AAC 109.010- .900. 

 

Public Comment Period ends November 14, 2014 

Written Comments to: Tom Erickson, Procurement Manager 

 813 West Northern Lights 

 Anchorage, AK 99503.  

By e-mail to:  terickson@aidea.org  

By fax to: Tom Erickson at 907-771-3044 

Additionally there will be a public hearing for comments on Monday November 3, 2014 from 

9:00am-110:00am (and may be extended) in the Board Room at AEA, 813 West Northern 

Lights Blvd, Anchorage, Alaska. Those wishing to participate in the hearing by telephone may 

do so by calling the toll-free number 1-888-585-9008, code 467-050-126. 

 

The Commission proposes, in Docket R-13-001, to adopt regulation changes in 03 AAC 52 & 53 

dealing with telephone utilities under the that are defined as Intrastate Interexchange Carrier 

of Last Resort (IXC COLR) assignment and duties, including repeal of language that 

establishes the existing IXC COLR, changes to the requirements and obligations for a new IXC 

COLR. Additional proposals would require phone utilities to notify the Commission prior to 

expanding into unserved areas of the state. 
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Public Comment Period ends November 14, 2014 

Written Comments to: Regulatory Commission of Alaska  

701 West 8th Avenue, Suite 300  

 Anchorage, Alaska 99501 

By electronic means to: 

https://rca.alaska.gov/RCAWeb/WhatsNew/PublicNoticesComments.aspx. 

Reference Docket R-13-001 

 

The Authority proposes to adopt regulation changes 03 AAC 99 to its Conduit Revenue Bond 

Program Fees. The proposed amendments to the conduit revenue bond fees reflect an effort to 

bring these fees in line with the Authority’s true cost of issuing bonds. Those changes will 

increase the current application fee from $500 to $1,000 and modifications on issuance fees 

based on the amount of the bond. 

  

Public Comment Period ends October 24, 2014 

Written Comments to: Sherrie M. Siverson 

AIDEA 

813 West Northern Lights Boulevard  

Anchorage, Alaska, 99503. Additionally, Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority 

will accept comments  

By fax to: 907-771-3044  

e-mail to:  ssiverson@aidea.org.  

Additionally there will be a public hearing for comments on Monday October 20, 2014 from 

9:30am-10:30am (and may be extended) in the AIDEA Board Room, 813 West Northern 

Lights Boulevard, Anchorage, Alaska, 99503.  

 

https://rca.alaska.gov/RCAWeb/WhatsNew/PublicNoticesComments.aspx
mailto:ssiverson@aidea.org
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The Department proposes to adopt new regulations in 12, AAC 02 and 77, dealing with all 

aspects of the practice of behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts including initial 

license application and license renewal requirements, criminal justice information requirements, 

temporary license, fees, definition of terms. This is a new licensed field in Alaska and rules are 

being implemented HB 361. 

Public Comment Period ends October 20, 2014 

Written Comments to: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 Attention: Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, AK  99811-0806 

Fax to::  (907) 465-2974 

By e-mail:  jun.maiquis@alaska.gov   

The Division of Insurance proposes to adopt regulations in 03 AAC 28 to incorporate by 

reference language from the Society of Actuaries and the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners an updated mortality table so that insurers will maintain reasonably conservative 

reserves.  The changes are in part based on newer mortality rates and will assist in uniformity 

among the states.   

Public Comment Period ends October 29, 2014 

Written Comments to: the Division of Insurance 

 Attention: Katie Campbell 

 P.O. Box 110805 

 Juneau, AK 99811-0805  

By e-mail to katie.campbell@alaska.gov;  

Fax to (907) 465-3422. 

Comments may also be submitted at: http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices 

mailto:katie.campbell@alaska.gov
http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices
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Additionally there will be a public hearing for comments on Wednesday October 22, 2014 

from 10:30am am to 11:00am  in  conference room B on the ninth floor of the State Office 

Building located at 333 Willoughby Ave., Juneau, Alaska. If you are unable to attend the 

meeting in person and would like to participate by teleconference, please call 1-800-315-6338 

and enter the access code 42070 followed by # .

 

The current regulations 03 AAC 26. 030-.300 relating to standards for the prompt, fair and 

equitable settlement of motor vehicle claims are outdated and difficult for insurers to comply 

with when trying to obtain sufficient information to determine the value of a vehicle that is a 

total loss. The revisions will address the use of electronic databases and other methods in 

addition to dealer quotes, while maintaining consumer protections. Additionally, similar changes 

will be made to the property settlement claims regulation to update the regulations to reflect the 

advancement of claims adjusting. 

This is a supplemental notice issued because of an error in noticing interested persons based on 

an apparent computer error. 

Public Comment Period ends November 7, 2014 

Written Comments to: the Division of Insurance 

 Attention: Sarah McNair-Grove 

 P.O. Box 110805 

 Juneau, AK 99811-0805  

By e-mail to sarah.mcnair@alaska.gov;  

Fax to (907) 465-3422. 

Comments may also be submitted at: http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices 

Additionally there will be a public hearing for comments on Tuesday, October 28, 2014 from 

9:30am am to 10:00am  in  conference room B on the ninth floor of the State Office Building 

located at 333 Willoughby Ave., Juneau, Alaska 

 

mailto:sarah.mcnair@alaska.gov
http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices
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12 AAC 02.190, Board of Dental Examiners, 

This SUPPLEMENTAL NOTICE is being issued because under the initial NOTICE OF 

PROPOSED CHANGES the document containing the proposed regulation changes dealing 

with application, review, permit, continuing education course submittal and resubmittal fees for 

dentists and dental hygienists inadvertently omitted some proposed fee changes and contained 

some incorrect proposed fee changes.  All incorrect fees are the existing fees not the new 

proposed fee. 

Public Comment Period ends October 31, 2014 

Written Comments to: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 Attention: Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, AK  99811-0806 

Fax to::  (907) 465-2974 

By e-mail:  jun.maiquis@alaska.gov   

 

The Department proposes to adopt regulation 22 AAC 20 dealing with attendance and 

appearances at Parole Board hearings, including crime victims. The board will be authorized to 

call witnesses. The changes allow for new ways the board can accept testimony, establishes 

procedures for serving a subpoena and updates the process including rules for refusal to attend a 

revocation hearing by the parolee. There will also be preconditions to be considers prior to 

revocation. 

The Board will be required to notify a crime victim if there is potential for release and it will 

review the victim’s testimony and position when considering that release. 

Public Comment Period ends December 19, 2014 

Written Comments to: 
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Charter schools 

The Department of Education &Early Development proposes new regulations for applications, 

application appeal procedures, grants, and pupil transportation for charter schools. 

4 AAC 27 and 4 AAC 33 The regulations establish procedures for Charter schools to apply for 

pupil transportation and the process for an appeal if the local district does not accept the 

application the appeal can be reviewed all the way to the State Board. 

Additional language requires charter schools to meet state and federal education standards and 

allows for inspection of those methods. 

New Charter schools applying for a grant will have specific requirements and procedures for the 

application. 

Public Comment Period ends November 3, 2014 

Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm  or 

sally.schlichting@alaska.gov 

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

mailto:richard.schmitz@alaska.gov
https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm
mailto:sally.schlichting@alaska.gov
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Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

 

The Department of Education & Early Development proposes regulation changes to 4 AAC 

06.075 to increase the units of credit in mathematics from two credits to three credits required for 

graduation from high school on or after July 1, 2017. 

Public Comment Period ends November 3, 2014 

Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm   

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

 

The Department of Education & Early Development proposes new regulations 4 AAC 33.090 to 

give a school district an annual opportunity and deadline to apply for approval to operate a 

residential school, and to allow a district to request a waiver from the Commissioner for 

flexibility in the date a district uses within the count period for its student count for a variable-

term statewide residential school. 

Public Comment Period ends November 3, 2014 

Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm


9 
 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm   

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

The Department of Education & Early Development proposes new regulations by which the 

Alaska State Museum will designate other Alaska museums or cultural centers as repositories of 

natural and cultural history materials. The language in 4 AAC 58 will establish designation of 

natural and cultural history repositories, including application process, alternative accreditation 

requirements, assurances by institutions, state review, and grounds for revocation of the 

designation. 

Public Comment Period ends November 3, 2014 

Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm   

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

The Department of Education & Early Development proposes to adopt regulation changes to 

amend 4 AAC 06  to require school districts to report to the department incidents involving the 

restraintor seclusion of a student and to require the department to approve crisis intervention 

training programs for schools.  

https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm
https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm
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Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm   

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

The Department of Education & Early Development proposes new regulations in 4 AAC 06 to 

update the criteria for exempting teachers from jury duty, to report aggregate data about students 

from families on active military duty, and to adjust the scoring in the school accountability 

system to reflect that students will have a choice between AST, the SAT or WorkKeys 

assessments. 

Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm   

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm
https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm
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The Department of Education & Early Development proposes a new regulation in 04 AAC 04 to 

follow statutory language that prohibits the department from expending money to implement the 

Common Core Standards Initiative.  

Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm   

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

The Department of Education & Early Development proposes new regulations in 04 AAC 33 and 

04 AAC 09 to implement changes in state law regarding adding unspent correspondence student 

allotments to the list of funds not subject to the state's limit on school district fund balances; 

conforming the regulations to the legislative changes in AS 14.03 regarding individual learning 

plans and student allotments for correspondence study programs and modifying the core course 

requirements for correspondence students who are proficient or advanced in state assessments. 

Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm   

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm
https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm
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The Department of Education & Early Development proposes new regulations in 04 AAC 06  to 

provide standards and criteria for a waiver from the requirement that students take a career-ready 

or college-ready assessment as a condition of receiving a high school diploma. The regulations 

also address procedures and standards for an appeal from the denial of such a waiver and 

adoption of the December 2014 version of the department's guidelines for the participation of all 

students in state assessments. 

Written Comments to: Commissioner’s Office 

 Department of Education & Early Development 

 Attn: Regulations Review 

PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500  

Fax to (907) 465-4156, 

Comments may also be submitted at: https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm   

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on December 4, 2014, at the Anchorage 

School District board room at 5530 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Anchorage, Alaska. This hearing 

will begin at 8:00 a.m. You may also comment at this meeting, during this time only, via the 

Legislative Information Office streaming by calling 1-855-463-5009 if you are outside of 

Juneau. For participation from Juneau, call 463-5009. 

The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) is proposing to change 

regulations on contaminated sites and underground storage tanks to broaden the number of 

individuals who may qualify to conduct environmental work at contaminated sites and 

underground storage tank sites, adopt updates to referenced documents, and to clarify, simplify 

and make consistent additional regulatory language.   

  

18 AAC 75.355 makes changes to permit “qualified samplers” to take tests when an 

environmental professional is not available. It further allows for a waiver of an impartial third 

party. Methods will be established using EPA standards. 

18 AAC 75.365 changes language and definitions to comply with the EPA standards adopted. 

https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm
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18 AAC 78.007- .995 Similar changes are made it these sections to comply with EPA standards 

and the necessary language for qualified sampler and “qualified environmental professional.”  

Also two DEC documents will be updated: 

 Underground Storage Tank Procedures Manual; and 

Operation Requirements for Soil Treatment Facilities (previously titled the 

Soil Treatment Facility Guidance). 

 

Public Comment Period ends November 26, 2014 

Written Comments to: Sally Schlichting  

Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation 

 P.O. Box 111800 

 Juneau, AK 99811-1800 

By e-mail to sally.schlichting@alaska.gov  

Fax to (907) 465-5218. 

Comments may also be submitted at: http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/Default.aspx 

 

 

The Department of Natural Resources proposes to adopt regulations to 11 AAC 05 that will 

provide for guidelines and fees for the use of state land proposed to be used for Wind Power 

Projects.  The fees simply add wind power projects to existing land use fees with the exception 

of a one-time fee of $1,500 per kilowatt produced and an annual rent based on 10% of fair 

market value. 11 AAC 05 is proposed to be changed to provide for new fees and rental rates for 

the use of state land associated with the use of state land for Wind Power Projects, and to make 

technical corrections to the departments fee regulations.  

Public Comment Period ends November 26, 2014 

Written Comments to: Department of Natural Resources  

Attn: Joe Joyner 

550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1070  

mailto:sally.schlichting@alaska.gov
http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/Default.aspx
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Anchorage, AK 99501-3579  

By e-mail to dnrmlw@alaska.gov  

Fax to (907 269-8904. 


